Look back at preseason predictions

With the postseason starting Friday, this seems as good a time as any to revisit the preseason poll, my preseason ballot and how that compares to the standings entering this weekend.

With playoff seeding tiebreakers included in the mix, I managed to hit on first, second, fourth and eighth which I am okay with, especially since I don’t gamble. 

Here was the preseason poll (28 ballots):

Denver – 199 points (11 first-place votes)

North Dakota – 175 (12)

St. Cloud State – 155 (2)

Western Michigan – 126 (2)

Minnesota Duluth – 123 (1)

Omaha – 113

Colorado College – 89

Miami – 28

Here was my ballot:

1, North Dakota

2. Denver

3. Western Michigan

4. Colorado College

5. Minnesota Duluth

6. St. Cloud State

7. Omaha

8. Miami

Here were the actual results:

North Dakota

Denver

Colorado College and St. Cloud State (SCSU won tiebreaker for playoff seeding)

Omaha

Western Michigan

Minnesota Duluth

Miami

About Joe Paisley
I am a freelance writer specializing in sports with about 30 years of professional experience.

Leave a comment