USA Hockey Hall of Fame class announced

USA Hockey announced the three members of the 2012 induction class for the USA Hockey Hall of Fame Wednesday afternoon.

The first announced was Lou Lamoriello, the chief executive officer, president and general manager of the New Jersey Devils.

“The architect of one of the most significant moments in USA Hockey history – 1996 World Cup of Hockey Championship,” said USA Hockey executive director Dave Ogrean.

The second inductee was Mike Modano who won the 1999 Stanley Cup with the Dallas Stars.

“It’s a privilege & honor to be a part of the US Hockey family for over 20 years and the experience has been a dream come true,” Modano said. “One of the more proud moments for me was to turn Texas into a hockey state.”

The third was Ed Olczyk who hoisted the Cup as a member of the New York Rangers.

“It’s a very proud day for me and my family. I’m humbled, honored and thankful to represent our game…in the great United States,” he said.

Quick trivia question: Which former Tiger was teammates with the honorees on both Stanley Cup teams: CC defenseman Doug Lidster.

Olczyck and Lidster were also part of the Rangers team that eliminated Lamoriello’s devils in the 1994 Eastern Conference Finals. Lidster had played for years with the Canucks before being traded to the Rangers during the 1993-94 season.


About paisleyhockey
I am a freelance writer specializing in sports with 25-plus years of experience.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: