NCHC decides on 24-game league schedule

COLORADO SPRINGS – The National Collegiate Hockey Conference will feature a 24-game conference schedule when the new Division 1 men’s hockey conference begins play in the 2013-14 season.
In announcing the plan for its inaugural campaign, Commissioner Jim Scherr said the mix for the first 34-game regular season consisting of 24 conference and 10 non-conference contests was the result of considerable analysis and discussion among the athletic directors and coaches from the National’s member institutions.
“The representatives from our eight programs came to the conclusion that a 24-game conference schedule is the most desirable,” said Scherr. “It is no secret that the National expects to be the most competitive conference in the college hockey so everyone starts with the expectation that every game against a league opponent will be a battle. We believe that the strength of the conference along with the allowance for 10non-conference games against a combination of traditional rivals and other top programs from around the country will provide the best opportunity to have a maximum number of our teams qualifying for the NCAA tournament and playing for the national championship every year.”
The conference announced last week that CBS Sports Network will be its exclusive national television partner in a multi-year agreement calling for a minimum of 18 conference games to be televised, beginning with the 2013-14 season.
While the eight teams will not be playing all conference opponents the same number of times in a season, Scherr indicated that the athletic directors and coaches were comfortable that theschedule will balance out over the course of several years. Scherr said that each team will play 12 conference games in each half of the season.
The conference’s member institutions are: Colorado College, University of Denver, Miami University,University of Minnesota Duluth, University of Nebraska Omaha, University ofNorth Dakota, St. Cloud State University and Western Michigan University. Dating back to the year 2000, the National Collegiate Hockey Conference boasts four NCAA National Champions, 14 NCAA Frozen Four appearances, 12 conference regular-season championships and 10 conference tournament championships. All eight members were participants in the NCAA Ice Hockey Championship tournament in one or both of the last two seasons.


About paisleyhockey
I am a freelance writer specializing in sports with 25-plus years of experience.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: